I know I need to sleep and wake up early and probably get some fresh air, but I’ll probably sit up, watch tv, think about the things that I’ve been trying not to think about, text a friend who I’m worried about, pray less than I need to, breathe because I have to, sing because I’ve been meaning to, add more books to my wishlist, drink warm water, walk up and down, not fall asleep, wonder if I’m doing everything wrong or is it just not right enough and then calm down eventually, because there’s nothing else to do and feel better.

In Flight
Jennifer.K.Sweeney

The Himalayan legend says
there are beautiful white birds
that live completely in flight.
They are born in the air,

must learn to fly before falling
and die also in their flying.
Maybe you have been born
into such a life

with the bottom dropping out.
Maybe gravity is claiming you
and you feel
ghost-scripted.

For the one who lives inside the fall,
the sky beneath the sky of all.

